5 Reiki Principles You Can Use to Create More Ease and Flow in Your Life

Last Update on January 27, 2022 : Published on January 27, 2022
5 Reiki Principles You Can Use to Create More Ease and Flow in Your Life

Reiki is an energy-healing practice that originated in Japan. The whole idea behind a reiki therapy or treatment, whatever you’d like to call it, is to heal your mind, body and soul. Since reiki is a process that uses energy to heal, you and the therapist both have to be equally involved.

Reiki used five principles that are the very base of the entire process. With the help of these 5 principles of reiki you can achieve that stability in life. The ease and comfort that you have been looking for can be achieved if you use these 5 reiki principles.


These 5 reiki principles are like fundamental truths of our life. These fundamental truths help us and guide us to lead a happy and fulfilling life.

Mikao Usui, a Buddhist monk, once said, “Reiki principles are the key to living a happy life and serve as medicine to the soul.”

Shall we begin understanding the 5 principles of reiki?

Also Read: 35+ Shadow Work Journal Prompts For Healing 

The Five Principles Of Reiki To Achieve Ease And Flow In life

These 5 principles, also known as precepts, of reiki look more or less like affirmations that you kind of manifest. It also shares its ideology with mindfulness practices of focusing on the present.

These principles will basically motivate and encourage you through the day so that the healing continues as the day passes by. Reiki therapy aims at understanding the importance of each day at that very time.

“Reiki is intelligent. The beautiful thing about reiki is that, whatever the problem, reiki energy goes where it is needed to do the greatest good” – Garry Malone, author of the book ‘Essence of Reiki’.

Also Read: 20 + Affirmations for Healing the Agonies of An Unhealthy Mind 

Here are the 5 principles of Reiki


Principle 1. Just for today, Do Not Worry

In this fast-paced world, we are all flooded with the stress and worry of our future. We fill our mind with imaginary scenarios from the future which often makes us worry a lot. No matter how much we try, the future does scare a lot of us.

This principle of reiki demands to have faith in yourself, relax and just for that day, decide not to worry. Be in the present moment and be grateful for what you have. Take a deep breath and just for today, do not worry!

Principle 2. Just for today, Do Not Anger

Anger is an emotion we all have experienced. Anger does have a negative connotation but isn’t always that bad. Anger tells us that there is something or someone that isn;t right for us or they have just crossed the line they shouldn’t have.

Although anger can take an evil form, suppressing anger is not right. Let the anger flow out of you but not in the form of rage. Whenever you experience anger, make sure to find the root of your anger and then decide your reaction. By the time you are analyzing your anger, say to yourself, just for today, Do not anger!

Principle 3. Just for today, Be Humble

Humility is an art that you need to practice every day in order to achieve a fine form of it. Our brain is such that it boosts our ego at the slightest to biggest achievement out of ours. We do not have to let success get to our head.

Whenever you feel like your brain is pumping you up, bow down and say to yourself, just for today, Be Humble!

Principle 4. Just for today, Be Honest

Being honest is a lot more difficult than any one of us has ever imagined. We are social beings and to fit into our society and culture, we sometimes become dishonest to our own selves. We need to honor our true self and accept ourselves as we are.

So, in case you find yourself being dishonest and hiding behind a persona just to merge with a certain socially accepting setting, stop right there and think to yourself, just for today, be honest. Be honest and accept yourself just the way you are.

Principle 5. Just for today, be compassionate

Compassion is a beautiful trait each one of us should develop. Having compassion, empathy and love for yourself and others will make you grow stronger each day. Whenever you find yourself judging others or yourself, remind yourself to be compassionate. Just for today, be compassionate.

Also Read: The Healing Benefits Of Lavender For Sleep And Relaxation

These are the 5 healing principles of reiki.

Do you wonder why each principle starts with ‘just for today’ ? This phrase is used to remind you to take baby steps. You don’t need to rush into anything. Just for one day, try to use these principles in your life and see the difference.

If these principles make even the slightest difference in your life then I am sure you will willingly adapt to this new way of living through the 5 principles of reiki.

I hope you found this blog interesting and helpful. Do let me know your thoughts about the 5 principles of reiki in the comment section below.

Thanks for reading.

Take care and stay safe.

About The Author

Kirti Bhati
Kirti Bhati

I am an English literature (major) and psychology (minor) graduate from St. Bede’s College, Shimla. Postgraduate in Clinical psychology from IIS University, Jaipur. She has published a Research paper on Music therapy in the military population and Workplace stress in a national seminar conducted by Fortis hospital (gurugram) and international seminar conducted by St. Bede’s College, Shimla, Respectively. Authored a dissertation work on ‘effect of social media addiction on the mental and physical well-being in adolescents’ Currently working at calm sage as a writer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

As Seen On